Direct download full album: $11.61


Available on CD
Tone Center

Steve Khan's SUBTEXT, subtitled Subtexto en Azul, stands out among the prolific jazz guitarist's much lauded body of work, and is highlighted with lyrical guitar phrases that weave in and out of a set of carefully chosen, superbly arranged and performed compositions. On the album, Steve continues his explorations of the grand traditions of Latin music, and this time, the core group features: Rubén Rodríguez(El. Bass & Baby Bass), Bobby Allende(Conga), Marc Quiñones(Timbal), and Dennis Chambers(Drums). At varying moments, they are joined by some great musicians as guest artists, including: Rob Mounsey(Keys & Orchestrations); Randy Brecker(Flügelhorn); Gil Goldstein(Accordion); and Mariana Ingold(Vocals). Japan's JAZZ LIFE magazine has already written that the recording is: An ambitious work, hot music filled with Khan's artistry

Track Sample Amazon iTunes
1 Bird Food
2 Blue Subtext
3 Baraka Sasa
4 Infant Eyes
5 Heard
6 Never Let Me Go
7 Cada Gota De Mar
8 Hackensack
9 Bait And Switch

About Steve Khan

More from Steve Khan