Ghost Notes

Ghost Notes

Direct download full album: $11.99


Available on CD
Tone Center

“Ghost Notes” is the first all- instrumental CD by The Eric Gales Trio. On “Ghost Notes”, blues guitar virtuoso Gales takes a wider angle view of his musical influences, run- ning the gamut between blues, rock, and fusion with enough mind-blowing musical mo- ments to satisfy the most de- manding Gales fan. In forming his instrumental trio, Gales chose two young virtuoso players in bassist Orlando Thompson and drummer Nick Hayes who met Gales where he lives and helped take him to a whole new place.

Following record deals with Elektra, The House Of Blues label, and Nightbird Records, the latter of which was affiliated with the Hendrix family and was distributed through MCA/Universal, Eric started his relationship with Blues Bureau by recording the critically acclaimed CD “Crystal Vision” for Blues Bureau which set the stage for his incredible Blues Bureau follow-up, “The Psychedelic Underground.” As both an African-American left- handed guitarist of extraordinary ability and an expressive vocal- ist, it is natural for people to compare Eric to Hendrix but Eric has developed a unique hybrid blues/rock sound that also draws upon influences as diverse as Albert King and Eric Johnson. A unique amalgam of styles, Eric Gales stands head and shoulders among other guitarists in his genre. Eric’s third Blues Bureau record “The Story Of My Life” took the next logical step in Eric’s career and followed by “Relentless” which was rooted firmly in the blues, further establishing Gales as one of the rare musical talents of his generation. “Transformation” was the next logical step in this prolific artist’s career as it is was deeply centered in the blues but played with the edge and aggression of a young guitar hero. Last year in 2012, Blues Bureau released “Eric Gales Live” which captured an incredible performance on DVD and CD and chroni- cled some of his best writing of the last decade.

Track Sample Amazon iTunes
1 Pickin' 'N Grinnin'
2 Just Funk
3 Cast Away
4 Grandaddy Blues
5 Caution
6 A Few More Miles
7 Ghost Notes
8 Way Down
9 Misunderstood
10 New Beginnings
11 EG Shuffle
12 Amazing Grace

About Eric Gales

Eric Gales grew up in a musical family with four brothers, two of them who learned to play the guitar upside down and left handed in the same fashion that Eric does. Eric’s brother Eugene Gales played bass in the Eric Gales Band and his brother Jimmy King had a thriving career as a blues artist before his untimely death. Eric released his first record at Age 16 for Elektra records to an amazing response from the media and music fans around the globe. Guitar World Magazine’s Reader’s Poll named Eric as “Best New Talent,” in 1991. After recording a second record for Elektra, all three brothers  teamed up for The Gales Bros. “Left Hand Brand” which was recorded for the House of Blues label in 1996.